Roadblocks to the home office

Is the "right to a home office" coming?

What will actually happen on 19 March 2022, when the pandemic situation in Germany has eased? Until that date, companies should allow their employees to work from their home offices.

A "right to home office" would have to be regulated in a binding manner. So the ball is in the legislator's court. In January, Labour Minister Heil spoke out in favour of there being no right to home office. As of today, there is a "legal obligation to discuss". This stipulates that companies and employees discuss the possibilities and ideally reach an agreement.

There is therefore no right to a home office, but also no obligation in the sense of the employer's right to give instructions.

Living with the crutch "mobile working

Many companies now send their employees to the "mobile office". In doing so, they circumvent numerous occupational health and safety regulations that must be complied with in the case of so-called "full" or "alternating" teleworking.

With this "crutch", companies have found a format to mobilise their staff pragmatically and at short notice under corona conditions in the home office. "Mobile working" saves them considerable costs. Otherwise, ArbStättV, ArbSchG or ArbSchVO would have to be complied with, which would result in considerable costs for checking and complying with these regulations and laws. Not to mention expensive equipment such as ergonomic office chairs or height-adjustable desks.

What would a right to home office mean?

A right to home office would therefore have considerable financial consequences for companies. Due to the existing high tax and duty burden, as well as the current price increases in logistics and energy, an additional burden on companies is likely to be politically difficult to implement.

So the wait for the legislator may be long. Especially for a draft with clear regulations that fit a large number of companies. Valuable time is lost in waiting. Other companies use this time to further expand their competitive advantage.

The home office should stay - take Apple & Amazon as a model

A lack of legal foundations and framework conditions is one thing, but dealing with the issue is another. This is shown by the labour market, which has quickly adapted to the situation. According to Indeed / 2022, on average 10.9% of all job ads nationwide included the possibility of a home office. Flexibility attracts young talent, especially Generation Y and Z, which is highly sought after.

Working remotely for a company in Berlin during the day and skiing in the Alps in the evening. No contradiction. Here, too, the USA is a pioneer. In the first months of the pandemic, companies like Apple or Amazon from the expensive Silicon Valley recognised the opportunity. They have attracted talent from the southern states by offering home offices. The home office should stay! That's what the majority of employees in the United States want in 2022, according to a study by the WFH Research Project.

XOROS-Home employees

Be one of the Corona winners!

Of course, experts also see potential for conflict when it comes to the home office. The discussion on the part of companies is wide-ranging. It ranges from "back to the office" to "dissolution of office space". Yet the situation can be resolved objectively and factually. The whole process gains momentum and motivation when all stakeholders in the company are involved in the drafting of a decision. It is well known that interests are wide-ranging. However, the range of wishes and ideas of the parties are not a contradiction to productive and efficient work. Rather, freedom should be granted where it is organisationally and economically feasible.

Motivation for all involved

The wishes expressed can be objectified and supported with facts and figures. In the end, it is a matter of finding a line and putting it into a decision document. This is more than just a way of thinking, it is a corporate cultural freestyle that is generally well received by all those involved. Because a joint decision is also easier to comply with for all involved.

At XOROS Home, we take a holistic view of hybrid working. Of course it is helpful, ergonomic chairs and Height adjustable tables offered by their company for their own home office. It is a clear benefit if the employee can choose the furnishings individually. Then the living room also remains visually a place of well-being. In addition, employees often lack physical and psychological support. This can lead to significant absenteeism. It is even more serious when the motivation of the employees suffers.

Book a free consultation at xoros-home.com/terminal/! We look forward to informing you about further solutions for productive and healthy working in the home office.

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Author

en_GBEnglish (UK)
logo xoros home

The as-a-service solution for furniture & co

Equip employees easily

Would you like to learn more about our solution?

You can find further contact options here.

logo xoros home
XOROS Home Professional home office

Welcome to XOROS Home

If you have any questions, please call us.

Tel.: +49 40 853 77 201

Portal-Login

Roadblocks ins Homeoffice

Kommt das „Recht auf Homeoffice“?

Was passiert eigentlich am 19 März 2022, wenn sich die pandemische Lage in Deutschland gelockert hat? Bis zu diesem Datum sollen Unternehmen ihren Mitarbeiter:innen das Arbeiten aus dem Homeoffice ermöglichen.

Ein „Recht auf Homeoffice“ müsste verbindlich geregelt werden. Der Gesetzgeber ist also am Zug. Arbeitsminister Heil sprach sich im Januar dafür aus, dass es kein Recht auf Homeoffice geben soll. Stand heute gilt eine „gesetzliche Erörterungspflicht“. Diese sieht vor, dass Unternehmen und Mitarbeiter:innen die Möglichkeiten besprechen und im Idealfall eine entsprechende Vereinbarung erzielen.

Es gibt also kein Recht auf Homeoffice, aber auch keine Pflicht im Sinne des Arbeitgeber-Weisungsrechts.

Leben mit der Krücke „mobiles Arbeiten“

Viele Unternehmen senden ihre Mitarbeiter:innen heute in das „mobile Office“. Damit umgehen sie zahlreiche arbeitsschutzrechtliche Vorschriften, die bei der sog. „vollständigen-“ oder „alternierenden- Telearbeit“ verbindlich einzuhalten sind.

Unternehmen haben mit dieser „Krücke“ ein Format gefunden, um kurzfristig und pragmatisch Ihre Belegschaft unter Corona-Bedingungen im Homeoffice zu mobilisieren. „Mobiles Arbeiten“ erspart ihnen erhebliche Kosten. Ansonsten wären ArbStättV, ArbSchG oder ArbSchVO verbindlich einzuhalten, damit einhergehend entstünden erhebliche Kosten zur Überprüfung und Einhaltung dieser Verordnungen und Gesetze. Ganz zu schweigen von kostspieligem Equipment, wie z.B. ergonomischen Bürostühlen oder höhenverstellbaren Tischen.

Was würde ein Recht auf Homeoffice bedeuten?

Ein Recht auf Homeoffice würde also für die Unternehmen erhebliche finanzielle Folgen haben. Aufgrund der bestehenden hohen Steuer- und Abgaben-Last, darüber hinaus den aktuellen Preissteigerungen im Bereich Logistik und Energie, ist eine zusätzliche Belastung der Unternehmen politisch wohl eher schwer durchzusetzen.

Das Warten auf den Gesetzgeber kann also noch lange dauern. Insbesondere auf einen Entwurf mit klaren Regelungen, die auf eine Vielzahl von Unternehmen passt. Beim Zuwarten geht wertvolle Zeit verloren. Andere Unternehmen nutzen diese Zeit, um ihren Wettbewerbsvorteil weiter auszubauen.

Das Homeoffice soll bleiben – Apple & Amazon zum Vorbild nehmen

Fehlende gesetzliche Grundlagen und Rahmenbedingungen sind das eine, der Umgang mit dem Thema das andere. Das zeigt der Arbeitsmarkt, der sich schnell an die Situation angepasst hat. Im bundesweiten Durchschnitt beinhalteten nach Angaben von Indeed / 2022 rund 10,9% aller Jobanzeigen die Möglichkeit des Homeoffice. Flexibilität zieht bei jungen Talenten, insbesondere bei der Generation Y und Z, welche stark umworben ist.

Tagsüber remote für einen Konzern in Berlin arbeiten und am Abend in den Alpen Skifahren. Kein Wiederspruch. Auch hier sind die USA Vorreiter. In den ersten Monaten der Pandemie haben Konzerne wie Apple oder Amazon aus dem teuren Silicon Valley die Chance erkannt. Sie haben Talente aus den Südstaaten über ihr Homeoffice-Angebot an sich gebunden. Das Homeoffice soll bleiben! Das wünschen sich laut einer Studie vom WFH Research Project unisono in 2022 die Mehrheit der Beschäftigten in den Vereinigten Staaten.

XOROS-Home Mitarbeiter

Gehören Sie zu den Corona Gewinnern!

Natürlich sehen Experten auch Konfliktpotential, wenn es um das Homeoffice geht. Die Diskussion seitens der Unternehmen ist breit gestreut. Sie reicht von „zurück ins Office“ bis „Auflösung von Bürofläche“. Dabei lässt sich die Situation objektiv und sachlich lösen. Der ganze Prozess gewinnt an Dynamik und Motivation, wenn alle Beteiligten im Unternehmen an der Ausarbeitung einer Entscheidungsvorlage beteiligt sind. Die Interessen sind bekanntermaßen breit gefächert. Die Bandbreite an Wünschen und Vorstellungen der Parteien sind aber kein Wiederspruch zum produktiven und effizienten Arbeiten. Vielmehr sollte man Freiheiten einräumen, wo sich diese organisatorisch und wirtschaftlich anbieten.

Motivation für alle Beteiligten

Die vorgetragenen Wünsche kann man gut objektivieren und mit Fakten und Zahlen belegen. Am Schluss gilt es, eine Linie zu finden und diese in eine Entscheidungsvorlage zu bringen. Das ist mehr als ein Denkmodell, vielmehr eine firmenkulturelle Kür, die bei allen Beteiligten grundsätzlich positiv aufgenommen wird. Denn eine gemeinsame Entscheidung ist auch leichter für alle Beteiligten einzuhalten.

Bei XOROS Home sehen wir das Thema hybrides Arbeiten ganzheitlich. Natürlich ist es hilfreich, ergonomische Stühle und höhenverstellbare Tische von seinem Unternehmen für das eigene Homeoffice angeboten zu bekommen. Ein klarer Benefit ist es, wenn sich die/der Mitarbeiter:in die Ausstattung individuell aussuchen kann. Dann bleibt das Wohnzimmert auch optisch ein Wohlfühlort. Darüber hinaus fehlt es den Mitarbeiter:innen aber oft an physischer und psychischer Unterstützung. Diese können zu signifikanten Ausfallzeiten führen. Noch gravierender ist es, wenn die Motivation der Mitarbeiter:innen leidet.

Buchen Sie ein kostenloses Beratungsgespräch unter xoros-home.de/termin/! Wir freuen uns, Sie über weitere Lösungsansätze zum produktiven und gesundheitlichen Arbeiten im Homeoffice zu informieren.

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Autor

logo xoros home
XOROS Home Professionelles Homeoffice

Willkommen bei XOROS Home

Bei Fragen rufen Sie uns gerne an.

Tel.: +49 40 853 77 201